Tennessee Cracking Down on Uninsured Motorists

According to an Insurance Research Council (IRC) study from 2006, 21% of Tennessee drivers do not have an auto insurance policy that meets state guidelines.  That means more than 1 in 5 TN motorists are uninsured or underinsured – the 6th worst rate in the nation!  Finally, lawmakers are taking note, stepping up, and proposing a veritable slew of new legislation aimed to crack down on uninsured drivers.  Here is quick rundown of the proposed laws:

  1. Creation of a “no pay, no play” policy in TN financial responsibility law.  (HB 0556 and SB 0525).
  2. Proof of insurance would be required to register any motor vehicle.  (HB 1071 and SB 0821).
  3. Law enforcement officers would be required to check for proof of insurance whenever handing out a traffic citation.  (HB 1296 and SB 1342).
  4. First offense for driving uninsured would be $250 (up from $100).  Second offenses would warrant $500 penalty and vehicle impoundment.  (HB 1834 and SB 1292).

Teenage driver insurance is already required in the state of TN.  Lawmakers are just making sure that everyone gets the coverage they need.  That will make the road a safer place for everyone. 

We’ll keep you up to date on this automotive news as it develops.

Sorry, comments are closed for this post.